Literary Mumblings

A few words about the books I’ve read…

Read-A-Thon: Last Hour

Posted by Amanda on April 19, 2009

deweys-readathonbuttonOk – so I think this is going to be my last post and then I am going to snatch a few hours of sleep before dragging my sleepy butt to church. Anyway, there is the End of Event Survey to do:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? How about the five hours that I slept earlier?
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Ummm… mysteries and comedies are usually nice and easy to read.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not at the moment. You guys did great!
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The blog having all the information in one place was very convenient and it made it easy to see what was going on.
5. How many books did you read? I completed two books, started a third, and listened to a portion of a fourth.
6. What were the names of the books you read? The Hawk and the Jewel by Lori Wick, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, Unnatural Death by Dorothy L. Sayers, and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
7. Which book did you enjoy most? I really enjoyed everything I read but I will say that Wick’s fluffy romance was perfect for this morning and I did enjoy it immensely.
8. Which did you enjoy least? There wasn’t one that I didn’t enjoy. Good books, all!
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader, though I think those who were did an awesome job! Maybe next time, I will try to do that job.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I am definitely interested in participating in the next RAT and would like to do much more. Read (without disappearing for 5 hours and then sleeping for 5 more), cheer, and maybe donate a prize (especially since I was so lucky as to win one!)

With that, I think I am calling it a night and will let my sleep-deprived head recover a bit.

Thank you to everyone who organized this – you guys are amazing! And for those who read for hours and hours and read hundreds, if not thousands of pages – you guys amaze and inspire me. Night!

14 Responses to “Read-A-Thon: Last Hour”

  1. thatsthebook said

    Those look like some great books you got read during your time reading. I hope to be more involved next time too.

  2. I really like The Kite Runner. I still haven’t seen the movie but would love to. Great job!

  3. alirambles said

    I slept for almost 5 hours of it, too–but mine were at the end, so it felt like quitting early. Oh, well!

  4. Beth F said

    Good job (see I can’t stop cheerleading!)

  5. Linda said

    Good job!

  6. Nise' said

    You did a great job even with a nap!

  7. Blodeuedd said

    Congrats 😀
    Well done

  8. Maree said

    Well done!! 🙂

  9. 3m said

    Great job! Don’t feel bad about sleeping. I usually have to sleep 3 hours during every readathon, and this one was no exception!

  10. Alaine said

    Well done on finishing!

  11. Eva said

    Congrats! You did great!

  12. Joy Renee said

    I keep seeing Dorthy Sayers name popping up on book blogs I don’t believe I’ve ever read one of her’s. Seeing that you had a hard time singling her out as neither better nor worse than Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 or Hosseni’s The Kite Runner both of which I concur are wonderful make me think she needs to be on my wish list.

    Read in joy

  13. bybee said

    That’s a bonus that you enjoyed all your reading! Great job!!!

  14. Jodie said

    Congrats on making it so far – join the cheerers next time, we can always use another one 😉

Leave a Reply

 
