Literary Mumblings

A few words about the books I’ve read…

Read-A-Thon: It begins!

Posted by Amanda on April 18, 2009

deweys-readathonbuttonWell, here we are at the beginning of the Read-A-Thon and since I was able to make it to the library after work yesterday, I have two extra books from which to choose. At the moment, my pile consists of: The Hawk and the Jewel by Lori Wick – It is a Christian romance which means extra fluffy and something easy to read so I will probably start with that. Sleeping Arrangements by Madeline Wickham – Wickham is a pseudonym for Sophia Kinsella, author of Remember Me? and The Undomestic Goddess, both of which I enjoyed. It is chick-lit, so more fluff, which is perfect when you are hoping to read for approximately 24 hours… Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – One of those classics that also happens to be fairly short. A Tale of a Tub by Jonathon Swift – Another short classic. I get to read something quickly and still feel a sense of accomplishment for having read it. Score! Unnatural Death by Dorothy L. Sayers – The third of the Lord Peter Whimsy mysteries. They are quite wonderful and rather short (can you see a theme emerging?) and I have been trying to slowly read all of them. Well, there are five books, which I am sure is more than I will accomplish, especially considering I will have to disappear in the middle for a dinner with some friends. If I find that none of them are working for me, I will pull something else from my TBR pile but this is what I am planning on at the moment.

As for the Introduction meme:

Where are you reading from today? I am mostly reading in my room where I live with my grandmother. If the weather is nice like it was yesterday, I may end up migrating outside for a while but we will wait until later for that one.

3 facts about me… 1) I am 23 years old. 2) I was once a student pilot for hot air balloons but I never took the time to study. 3) I majored in International Relations in college.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? As I said above, I have about five books that are on my short list but I can also add any of the books from my regular TBR pile… I do also have an audio book for when I have to do something – it is a copy of The Kite Runner.

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? I think I would be happy if I read at least 3 books, but really I am just happy to be participating again. I would also like to see how long I can stay up but considering I never even pulled a full all-nighter in college, I am not holding out much hope.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time? Have fun! Make sure you are enjoying this as it is not supposed to be some lesser form of torture. Also, stay hydrated – water! Too much coffee will just make you jittery.

Now, on to the reading!

3 Responses to “Read-A-Thon: It begins!”

  1. I chose only short books and I dived into them ahead of time to give me a head start.

    Good luck with your reading. Fahrenheit 451 is a wonderful book.

  2. bybee said

    Good advice about the water. I always make the mistake of over coffee-ing.

  3. Robin said

    Enjoy your reading today!

Leave a Reply

 
