Literary Mumblings

A few words about the books I’ve read…

Read-A-Thon: Hour 9

Posted by Amanda on April 18, 2009

Title of book(s) read since last update: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Number of books read since you started: The Hawk and the Jewel by Lori Wick and my current read
Pages read since last update: 38
Running total of pages read since you started: 385
Amount of time spent reading since last update: 30 minutes
Running total of time spent reading since you started: 5 hr 45 m

Also, the mini-challenge at the moment is from The Curious Reader who is asking about the local libraries:

1. What is the name of your local library? What city is it located in?
The one here is called the Columbia Station Public Library, I think. It is in Columbia Station so I figure that is probably what it is called…
2. How often do you go to the library? If you’re a regular, do the staff know you?
Well, I used to go to the library more often before I moved, but I just moved here not to long ago and so I got my library card yesterday. Which means the staff has seen me only a few times. Half of those times were with my grandmother, who they do know by name.
3. Do you browse while you’re there or just pick up items you have placed on reserve?
I am one who browses and tries to find something I might like. When I’m in the book store, I usually have a list of potential books but the library – I just browse through until I find something.
4. What is your favorite thing about your local library?
Ummm… like I said, I am new there so I haven’t been there a lot. They seem to be very good at getting things through the library loan system (my grandmother uses it a lot) so we will go with that.

2 Responses to “Read-A-Thon: Hour 9”

  1. Kim L said

    Interlibrary Loan is great. My library has that, but it isn’t that great, nor is it very fast. I have found it much more efficient to become a library patron at a few different county libraries and just drive where I can to get books. Works for me!

    Great job with the reading! Enjoy your break.

  2. Eva said

    You’re doing great! And having a great ILL system is so nice. It’s cool your grandma uses it regularly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
