Literary Mumblings

A few words about the books I’ve read…

I’m joining up.

Posted by Amanda on March 28, 2009

Oh goodness. The addicting qualities of challenges. They are wonderful and terrible at the same time. They are one of the joys behind book blogging but when you have joined 268 challenges and have 279,047 books to read for the year… Things can get a bit crazy.

Still I am addicted and to fuel that addiction, I am choosing a few challenges to take part in for the time being.

The first challenge is a personal one and that is to simply read 15 books from the Guardians’ “1000 novels everyone must read.” My list for this challenge includes:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Blindness by Jose Saramago
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch by Alexander Solzenitsyn
Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
The Mysteries of Udolpho by Anne Radcliffe
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Possession by A.S. Byatt
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
The Loved One by Evelyn Waugh

I have a few more books that I can add to this and I hope to read more than 15 but this is just a start from which to move.

onceuponatimeThe next challenge I am joining is the Once Upon a Time Challenge from Stainless Steel Droppings. I love fantasy as it is so this is just an excuse to read even more and the challenge extends from now until June 20. I figure I will go with Quest the First:

Read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time III criteria. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology…or your five books might be a combination from the four genres.

I am not going to make a list for this one. Instead, I’ll just go with whatever I find between now and June.

classicschallengeThe next challenge will be the Classics Challenge, hosted by Trish and going between April 1 and October 31. I am going to go light on this one for now and I am just signing up for the Classics Snack, which requires four classic novels. For this challenge, I think I am going to go with the following:

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
The Mysteries of Udolpho by Anne Radcliffe
A Tale of a Tub by Jonathon Swift
Humphrey Clinker by Tobias Smollett

For the Bonus new classic, I am going to go with Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke.

With that, I think I had better quit for the moment. I know I am going to add to this list sooner or later but let’s work on the books I have here first…

3 Responses to “I’m joining up.”

  1. […] I’m joining up. « Literary Mumblings Says: March 28th, 2009 at 4:06 pm […]

  2. Trish said

    Thanks for joining the classics challenge! I read Age of Innocence a few years ago and enjoyed it. I’ll be reading more Wharton this year for the challenge. Happy reading!

  3. Carl V. said

    I’m so happy to see that you are joining the Once Upon a Time Challenge. I hope you enjoy the reading and other events during the course of the next 3 months.

Leave a Reply

 
